top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJanj

Haribo anyone?....

Updated: Aug 17, 2020

One of my strongest beliefs is that positivity and success is created within you. Your thoughts and what you believe I truly feel emit vibes to the universe which in turn matches like for like and brings it back around for you. If you are negative it will bring negativity into your life and much the same with positiveness. Have you noticed when one thing seems to go wrong it has a knock on effect, the trick is to break the spell. Believe in your dreams and aspirations so deeply that your aura manifests it and accept nothing less. When it fails or knocks you down you get up and try again, there really are no failures only things that were probably never really meant for you or your story.

When I last spoke to you, I had so much going on and quite honestly had started to sink back into my very own negativity talk and bad thoughts circle. As I have mentioned before my job wasn’t working out for me, in fact it had made me quite ill, the effect being a flare up in my ME symptoms which had been so manageable the year before. Bad choices due to brain-fog addled thoughts and having to go off work sick meant financial woes and so it spiralled going on and on and on....

A lot has happened since my last blog in May I am happy to report, I've been busy once again working on me for me, as I have always said, it is a journey with many twists and turns which will never be completed. I love a good ‘life quote’, don’t you? One of my faves being "You are not a tree, if you don't like where you are, move!" Simple but effective and so so true, so that's just what I did. While on leave from work under doctors’ orders I optimistically tried for many many jobs which I had hoped would be more suited to my mobility and energy levels both mentally and physically. Despite having left administration work quite a few years ago I decided to go back into an office environment and tried for everything and anything which sounded do-able and was within my remit. I was amused when I tried for a couple of admin jobs in the local county hospital – during lockdown in the midst of a pandemic - for anyone who knows me this is just so typically me. I knew with perseverance there would be something suitable out there for me and indeed I was not proved wrong when invited to two interviews within different departments of the hospital. I actually felt quite confident going to both but the first, thanks to my lack of cognitive sharpness at the time hilariously didn’t quite get off to a good start. I prepared meticulously, looked over all my paperwork and looked into the department and their role within the health service AND then proceeded to go to the interview a day early! You have to laugh, I did as did the interview panel, luckily they were holding them all week and were there on that day, rather than hold it against me they decided that I was just very keen! Unsurprisingly however, I didn’t get the job but had lovely feedback and was assured that my eagerness had not gone against me merely given them a good laugh. Luckily I had the second interview the following week. This went very well, so well in fact that my nervousness disappeared – I remembered all I needed to say and ask, answered questions eloquently and confidently like a pro and felt like the interviewers were old friends, obviously a big high five to them for making it feel that comfortable and easy, sure enough too much excitement and merriment I got the job. So begins a new career in a hospital in the middle of a global pandemic and I am over the moon to report that two months on I am still loving it and the new colleagues who have embraced me so warmly into their tight knit team, i'm also very happy with my slowly increasing health levels. The income is decent and household bills once again becoming manageable which in turn means less stress. Life once again is good.

All this wonderful change made me think about what more I could do myself to actively improve my quality of life. Having been a vegetarian for over a year and a half due to my love of animals I had often said I would find it very hard to “go Vegan” as I love cheese too much even though I knew the facts about dairy production over the world were quite grisly and inhumane. My daughter who is already a Vegan would often say the only being that should drink cow’s milk is it’s calf and I have over the years personally come to feel wholeheartedly that animals are sentient beings who have as much right to life as the human race, we were put on the earth to share it not to become it’s masters. Our greed and entitlement as a race is making us more and more oblivious/indifferent to others’ suffering. I had no choice, it had finally clicked into place that the animals and their welfare was more important than a wedge of cheese in my fridge and I too am proud to announce I am now 90% Vegan. What? Why only 90 percent I hear you ask? – technically I intend to be wholly vegan but as so many of our food products which you wouldn’t even know contain or are produced through using animal derivatives that at this early stage I feel would make it nigh on impossible and very unrealistic – even my favourite Haribos’ contain cochineal (The cochineal (/ˌkɒtʃɪˈniːl/ KOTCH-ih-NEEL, /ˈkɒtʃɪniːl/ KOTCH-ih-neel; Dactylopius coccus) is a scale insect in the suborder Sternorrhyncha, from which the natural dye carmine is derived). So basically in a nutshell most of your red gummy sweets are made using the crushed shells of this insect….nice huh. Are you partial to a glass of wine or two, mmm me too but did you know that in many wine production companies, filtering during manufacturing is done through fish guts?? Luckily if one looks hard enough there are alternatives. My point being while I will endeavour to be vegan at heart I will not beat myself up if by chance it comes to my notice I have unknowingly eaten something containing these hidden ingredients or manufacturing processes or if I simply choose the veggie option when it is the only option available. Nor, do I intend to start an anti meat/dairy crusade converting all friends and family and forcing my beliefs on everyone, this is one for you and your conscience alone, I will not become a social media bore on the subject but I am here on a learning curve and feeling much happier with myself and my life decisions, should anyone want to ask any questions or if you’re thinking about it but not quite sure how to go about it – the answer is to simply start, try and do your best.

Good, positive decisions leading to good positive energy which is being rewarded with health and happiness, I have a feeling good times are coming - Janj X


76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page