top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJanj

Honey, I'm Home...

Updated: Oct 30, 2023

It doesn't always have to be the modern day, seemingly pre-programmed speed of only stop and go and usually at top speed - sometimes there needs also to be a pause and reset:


Wow, that was a bumpy ride! Gosh the last few months have been tough - how 'bout you? Hanging in there I hope? It's not been easy this time around I'm not gonna lie...


Flare ups whether physical or mental are par for the course these days and pretty much accepted as the norm in my life because after all this isn't my first rodeo for crying out loud; but occasionally I can still be hit by a doozy which knocks me for six. The odd thing is though I find that every flare changes me a little, I become a little more....well, ME - how Ironic!

Remember my last Blog? The matter of a little cold I had? Well let me tell you that escalated quickly. Over two months on and only now am I getting my energy and 'Je ne sais quois' back. Work, life and generally being me were a struggle but I finally feel the distant glimmer of my shine re-buffering. How did I re-find myself? I simply stopped and listened...and if you listen close enough the answer is always there. Turn down all that external noise and internal occasionally manic chatter and your body and mind will tell you what it needs, I needed as always, rest. But also to trust myself and not be consumed by worry, doubt and fear. This time I took it to another notch though, I took time out from constant texting, social platforms and even my beloved blogs. Started thinking of me again and when I was ready I reached out.

Despite a second cold in as many months I actually feel quite cheery and pragmatic, arriving at a calm state I've really not felt for quite a while, being honest probably longer than I would care to admit. Taking back the reins feels rather empowering and so rather than dwelling on the why's and what for's of the last few weeks I am practicing the art of introspection. The lyrics of Journey's 'Don't Stop Believing' are screaming out at me and the future once again feels like it's arse is mine.

These dark periods can sometimes go as quickly as they come or are triggered I should say and I imagine myself emerging much like a snake with another of it's dysfunctional skins being shed, always getting closer to the true me. I believe it's called enlightenment and finding it is quite a bitch I tell you!

Deep thoughts indeed this month, especially considering it is currently 3am and I am wide awake but even this feels good to me currently because only last week my overwhelming thoughts were negative, weak, jumbled and a little erratic. Here and now I am thinking "What do I want?" "What can I change?" "What do I need to make things better?" Whilst I am still no closer to the answers I have simply slowed down and breathed....have you noticed that sometimes you're simply so busy thinking that you don't think simply X



Also of note to believers: Mercury’s last period of retrograde motion in 2021 lasted from September 27 to October 17! According to astrology, we are all influenced by the effect of Mercury in retrograde. What exactly does it mean for each of us, though? WHAT IS “MERCURY RETROGRADE”? Three times a year, Mercury appears to travel backward across the sky. We refer to these periods as times when Mercury is in apparent retrograde motion, or simply ”Mercury retrograde.” To those who practice astrology, these times in particular were traditionally associated with confusion, delay, and frustration. Think email blunders, and frazzled travel plans! This is an excellent time to reflect on the past, however, and it’s said that intuition is high during these periods. Coincidences can be extraordinary. What Is Retrograde Motion? The astronomical explanation for retrograde motion starts with understanding that the planets in our solar system orbit the Sun at different distances and speeds. While we orbit the Sun ourselves, we can observe the other planets moving across our sky, following their own paths. Sometimes, it can appear (from our perspective) that a planet has abruptly switched directions and has started to move in reverse across the sky. This is, of course, an illusion caused by the position of Earth in relation to that of the planet, since a planet in orbit always travels in one set direction and can’t suddenly reverse course. This is why we call the phenomenon apparent retrograde motion, as it only looks like the planet is moving backward (“retrograde motion”)!

WHAT YOU SHOULD DO WHEN MERCURY IS RETROGRADE: The planet Mercury rules communication in all forms—listening, writing, reading, speaking, and so on—as well as activities closely related to communication, like negotiations and contracts. It also rules travel, automobiles, shipping, and mail. So, when Mercury is retrograde, try to remain flexible, patient, and understanding, allow extra time for travel, and avoid signing onto any new contracts that you’re unsure of. Double check your email responses and check in with reservations before you take that trip. Review projects and plans at these times, but wait until Mercury is direct again to make any final decisions. You can’t stop your life, but plan ahead, have back-up plans, and be prepared for people’s shorter fuses and miscommunication.

Take a Moment to Reflect Some blame Mercury retrograde for all chaos that happens in their lives. However, this is a good time to sit back and review what you put your energy toward. For example, if family and faith are important to you, are you putting enough of your energy into them or have you become overextended in other areas such as your career or a hobby? Losing the balance between different parts of your life can cause all of them to suffer, so being aware of the connections between them—especially during Mercury retrograde—can help you to maintain or at least better understand how that balance works. Take a moment to reflect. Mercury retrograde can be an excellent time to take a step back and reanalyze who you are and what you are doing—but do refrain from making any drastic changes until after retrograde has ended.









25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page