top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJanj

Let's Get Deep...

Updated: Aug 17, 2020

FAITH & HOPE...the way I see it. Even on the toughest days I try to have a little of both but what exactly are they - while this is of course open to personal interpretation, here's' my take on it...

I don't view myself as being religious at all but in a world so fond of labels if I were forced to choose I would say 'Agnostic' comes closest to how I feel about it all

* ag·​nos·​tic | \ ag-ˈnä-stik , əg- \

Definition of agnostic

a person who holds the view that any ultimate reality (such as God) is unknown

and probably unknowable

BROADLY : one who is not committed to believing in either the existence or the nonexistence of God or a god*


At the risk of contradicting myself though I do have to admit to believing in the strong possibility that there could well be a form of benevolent creator or higher being of some sort but I consciously don't 'inhale' when it comes to the Bible, Torah, Quran etc and all that guff, personally preferring Aesop and the brothers' Grimm for my fairy tales. The thought of traditional organised religion sticks in my craw; Personally I have felt for some time now quite passionately that they are brainwashing, elitist, judgemental institutions and in some cases downright dangerous - not what I would perceive any deity of mine to expect me to follow blindly merely on hearsay! Notice however, that I don't single out any one particular religion, if it is an organised cult I myself have no respect or belief in any of it - and to be fair that is how I see most of the world religions past and present, as cults. Don't get me wrong I would never disrespect or intentionally insult any individuals' belief in any of these religions - this is partly my point, it is a personal thing to which we should respect everyones' views whether we agree or not. As regardless of what we believe to be true, belief is all we have...no hard facts; Faith.


Yet, all this said it may seem incredulous but I do believe there to be A deity of some sort - whether he/she/they be God, Allah, Buddha or Jehova or the like. Speaking from personal experience when I feel like I am unable to go on and life gets hard to bear as it does for us all from time to time, I often feel that there may very well be an invisible force in my corner. I guess my problem with and distrust in this lies mainly in a deities' human messengers rather than a belief or non belief of said deity actually existing. Although in my humble opinion this cannot be proven one way or another as all we have is word of man to fight the case and let's be honest here "the word of man" is not always known to be trustworthy. Much the same all demands put upon us in the name of religion come from human beings and not a higher being or your believed in "God".

To make conversation easier in my own mind and for the purpose of identification only when I need a chat with my real/imagined higher being I have come to refer to him/her/them as Bob. Bob has no rules or expectations for me, except that I display kindness, humility and play kindly with all the other hoomans... of course this I simply presume, a gut feeling. We have an equality and healthy respect of each other allowing for understanding between us. Bob doesn't command or decree - Bob is everything and everywhere, the universe, galaxies, mother nature and all living beings - most importantly my strong belief is that Bob doesn't judge me; there is a yin and yang balance a form of Karma is you like i.e. what I give out to the universe in vibes or deeds, I too receive back.

All the sadness, disease, hate and evil perpetrated in the world is not Bobs' doing but created by the hands of our fellow humans who the world over seem to have become obsessed with wealth, fame, ego and power above all else. We are not being commanded to follow by the voice of our deity but by words and deeds of people to brainwash and command compliance by leading us like sheep...simple, easy and compliant en mass.

Hope is what comes from believing and trusting in your own personal Bob being there and having your back when no one else has. That your behaviour in good thoughts and deeds is rewarded by the universe itself and that all will come good again because you are a decent person. Hope is when you feel weak but act strong in ways you can't even begin to explain. The belief deep down that situations cannot change on their own and to keep going despite current situations is the only way to bring about positivity and positive change; that despite how anything may feel at the time the pendulum can swing back in your favour. Believing that there are better days to come, a tiny spark of hope can brighten the darkest of days. Hope gets you out of bed in the morning when you have lain awake in despair throughout the night. Faith however, has you knowing that your tears will dry and that "Bobs'" energy needs no definitive label because it is simply there, it doesn't need to be proven or disproven, or believed in unconditionally for it is what it is - a force there to carry you until you are strong enough to carry yourself.

Bob doesn't charge for services rendered or insist you turn up to idolise or fall to your knees at his/her image in any temple of gold on any given day of the week but that your intentions are pure and that you simply do your best, for yourself and others - no bullying commands of conformity - these, put simply come from people, from organised religion & governments....mere people.

Bob, and I now speak broadly as I see it in my minds' eye is your imaginary (?) friend who is Faith and Hope with no strings, could be a deity or simply the universe and all it's magic but it is on your side, so whether your religious or not we are all on the same side and therefore Faith and Hope are never wasted emotions - Janj X






31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page